Why I write

Why do I write? That’s a very good question. I don’t proclaim, like other writers, to have stories swimming in my head, bursting to get out. I have maybe six ideas. Maybe. Does lack of ideas mean I am not a writer? Does wanting to be a writer count for anything?

Why do I Write?  Writing is the only way I feel comfortable communicating with the world. I express myself better through written words. It gives me a chance to review, revise, or even resist.

Why DO I write? Do I really want to share my intimate thoughts with strangers, or even worse, my familiars?  That’s scary. Writing means exposure. Do I really want that?

Maybe I write so I can examine the demons that prevent me from reaching my full potential. A form of therapy, so to speak.

Maybe I to write because I am tired of the world I live in. Who wouldn’t want to skip town in a literary sense.

If I were a real writer, I would write mysteries. Stories of intrigue, capturing the imagination of the reader. I would write a story they could not put down because they are compelled to keep reading until the very end. A story so good that as the reader approached those last few pages, they would be torn between finding out what really happened and having the story end.

If I could be any writer, I would be J.K. Rowling. I want her talent and her imagination. I want to sit in a coffee shop and write in the wee hours of the morning, to create a world that that is so totally real that we sometime wonder if there really are wizards among us.

I digress.

Why do I write? For all the wrong reasons: I want to be read, I want to be liked, I want to be great. I want fame and fortune and everything that goes with it.

Why do I write? No reason, I just like it. I like creating something new, to be God-like. To bring beauty to the page; to touch the life of the reader in a new and intimate ways. I like the flow of words, the magic of putting together nouns and verbs, adjective and adverbs, stringing them together in such a way that it takes the reader to places they have never traveled.

Why do I write? Because I can. Because I still have the mental faculties to put words to paper. There will come a day when that gift is taken from me, so for now, I write. And I will keep writing until the I can write no more.

Why do I write? It is who I am, who I want to be.   

This story was inspired by WordPress.Com Daily Inspiration.

Total word count 460.

9 thoughts on “Why I write

  1. I write because sometimes I have to write papers for class. But writing is a way of expressing myself. Because I have a huge imagination, I love being able to write. For the longest time ever, I never really thought about why I write to begin with

    Like

    • I guess some people know. It is something I have wanted to do since high school, but life always seemed to get in the way. Keep writing, even if you are not sure you know why. Discovery is always so much fun!

      Like

      • I never even wanted to start a blog in the first place. But friends and family convinced me to. I was hooked after my first post. Blogging has become a wonderful hobby of mine and helps me deal with the stresses of college life

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was honest and real and insightful. There are so many reasons to write, and I think every single one is a valid and legitimate reason. So what if you want to write because you want people to like you? Because you want some attention? Or because you have a thousand stories (or 6!) rummaging about in your head? Whatever your reason is, if you want to write, if you CHOOSE to write, then it is a reason that should be good enough for yourself and for anybody else.

    I look forward to reading the words you write 🙂

    P.S. I too love J.K.Rowling! She’s my favorite author and constant inspiration. I’m also a huge Harry Potter fan ❤

    Like

    • Thank you Jade! This was in response to a writing prompt and was for the most part “edited” free-writing. Truthfully, I don’t seem to have all the same drive or reasons that I hear from a lot of writers. I’m glad it came out OK.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘Who wouldn’t want to skip town in a literary sense?’ was a magical moment! I can already see you at that coffee shop table in the small hours living your writerly dream and proving to your readers that there definitely are wizards among us!

    Like

    • I hope so! I would love nothing more than to give up my day job and become an obsessed writer (with or without the drinking problem :))
      Thanks for stopping by

      Like

Leave a Reply

