Sunday Photo Fiction: Lyin’ Eyes

10-eric-wicklund-25-june-2017

Photo Credit: Eric Wicklund

I knew I was in trouble.

As soon as I walked in the door, Mom demanded to know where I had been. I didn’t want to tell her Jimmy and I stopped to have a coke at the corner store because that would lead to a range of questions about where I got the money and a series of more lies.

I told her had stayed after school, to help my teacher. I regretted the words as soon as they left my month.

Let’s go see Aunt May.

The old woman living at the end of Main Street wasn’t really my aunt. It was a title given her out of respect for her longevity. I never knew her true age, but her leathery gray skin screamed of ancientness.

As I said, I knew I was in trouble because Aunt May was the town lie detector. One look at you with those piercing green eyes and the secrets of your soul were exposed.

I didn’t need to think about my decision. I knew the facts would come out, one way or another. I saved us both a trip to the end of Main Street and told my mom everything.

 

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly challenge to write a short 200-word story inspired by a photograph. This week’s photo is provided by Eric Wicklund.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction: Lyin’ Eyes

Leave a Reply

