Friday Fictioneers: 2024

Photo Prompt by Claire Sheldon

The words litter the walls of my cubicle:

Happiness is Productivity

Every morning, I dive into bliss, glad to be fruitful. Robotics have replaced meaningful jobs and attending University is unattainable, except for the uber-wealthy. Fearing the words ‘welfare state,’ the Government creates jobs for workers like me, so we too stay productive.

I am a ‘Stapler.’

Daily, I receive stacks of paper, filled with meaningless words. I separate, stack, and staple. Eight hours a day. At the end of my shift, I gather my packets and pass them to Pete in the next cubicle.

Pete is the ‘Un-stapler.’

 

This story was inspired not only by the great George Orwell’s 1984, but also by a photo prompt posted on Friday Fictioneer’s a weekly challenge to write a complete story in 100 words or less. Photo Prompt provided by Clare Sheldon

 

22 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: 2024

  1. What a scary situation… I used to say that healthy welfare recipients should be obliged to work at something to get their money… this is ridiculous though. And one I would not be surprised the government would come up with!

    Like

  2. michael1148humphris says:

    Sadly you describe well some well known employment strategies, yet there are ten million and one valuable jobs that desperately need doing, left undone.

    Like

  3. Oooh, part of me finds this chilling and part of me finds this fascinating. There are so many layers of story here, I can easily see this as a snippet to a larger, futuristic/dystopian tale.

    Like

Leave a Reply

